fish
The watercolor rendering of the proposed fountain as presented to the City of Frederick and the
Green-Walled Garden Clum

 
frederick magazine cover
 

Frederick Magazine recognizes Diehl Fountains as one of Frederick County's "hidden gems."

2007 Dedication Plaque

The original memorial, unveiled on August 17th, 1911, was dedicated to the humane efforts of Marie Diehl (1855-1907), a founder of the Frederick Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, now the Frederick County Humane Society.

The 12-foot tall monument depicted Hebe, the Greek goddess of youth and spring, and featured drinking fountains "for man and beast." In addition to a fountain for people, there was a large basin for horses and two on the sides for dogs and cats.

The bas-relief here portrays the original memorial where it stood at the corner of Church and Court Streets. And, in that monument's tradition, these fountains are "to furnish refreshing drink" to the citizens of Frederick and their beloved animal friends.

Diehl Memorial Fountains

On July 19, 2007, the Green-walled Garden Club and the City of Frederick unveiled the Diehl Memorial Fountains – a new fountain with an old look for the Carroll Creek Park in historic downtown Frederick, Maryland. The design recalls the 1911 Diehl Memorial which was located on Church and Court Streets.

The fountains feature a six-foot panel with a relief of the original fountain created by sculptor, Toby Mendez, with a pet fountain at the base. Additionally, a drinking fountain designed to meet ADA guidelines stands adjacent to the relief panel with wheelchair access from the Creek.Cast in bronze, the new fountain includes many design elements from the old memorial, but with modern upgrades.

" We are delighted with the design of the new fountain," said Sandra Sayko, President of the Green-walled Garden Club. She added, "We promised to re-pay Frederick for their support of us through various civic beautification projects." The Garden Club will also design, plant and maintain a garden area next to the drinking fountain as they have at the Carillon in Baker Park and many other locations downtown.

The original fountain was dedicated on August 17, 1911, to honor Marie Diehl, a founder of the Frederick chapter of the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (now the Humane Society). The fountain with its basins for horses and dogs and cats was removed from Church Street after supposedly being damaged by an automobile. There are two known pieces of the original memorial remaining, including the figure, Greek Goddess Hebe, who until recently had been keeping watch over the Steiner House gardens.

About the Original Fountain

The figure was based on the 1806 sculpture by Berthel Thorvaldsen (1770- 1844). The daughter of Zeus and Hera, Hebe is the goddess of Youth and Spring proffers the cup of immortality at the table of the gods. Hebe stands on her plinth, raising the drinking bowl with her left hand, her gaze focusing on it. She holds the jug with a lowered right hand beside her thigh.

Copied in cast zinc by the J. L. Mott Company of New York, N. Y. the figure was featured in their 1910 catalog and offered several fountain bases.* Photo from the Mott catalog.

The City of Baton Rouge in February 2006 re-dedicated their Hebe which was re-cast in bronze, replacing the original zinc casting. In 1914, the local branch of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union chose the statue from a foundry catalog and donated it to the city. It is also one of the most popular outdoor sculptures in the city and offered drinking basins for animals.**

Copies cast by the Mott Foundry can be found all over the country and are often matched with a unique base with many featuring fountains, and perhaps the most well-known copy is the Cogswell Fountain in Tompkins Square Park, New York.

Sources:
* www.robinsoniron.com, Newsletter, Spring, 2006
** www.2theadovate.com, February 12, 2006

   
    MMVI-MMXX Fountainworks Studio. All rights reserved.